How are pistol barrels made?

PDA

Brass Fetcher
May 19, 2006, 07:02 PM
I am looking to fabricate my own .32NAA barrel for a Kel-Tec P3AT, as I cannot find a company so far who is willing to take the job.

Here is what I have:

A full machineshop w/machinists
I'm a mechanical engineer
.32 cal barrel blank
.32NAA reamer
Kel-Tec P3AT

Here's what we don't know:

Are pistol barrels generally heat-treated in any areas?
Are jigs typically required and if so, what is a good time estimate for a one-off semi-auto barrel?

Thank you very much.

If you enjoyed reading about "How are pistol barrels made?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Vern Humphrey
May 19, 2006, 07:53 PM
Are pistol barrels generally heat-treated in any areas?

Most modern pistol barrels are heat treated.

Are jigs typically required and if so, what is a good time estimate for a one-off semi-auto barrel?

A semi-auto barrel consists of three prime elements:

The barrel proper

The locking lugs

The lug or cam which locks and unlocks the gun.

Probably most barrels are forged, to leave the steel for machining the lugs and cam. It is possible to make lugs and cam separately, and slip on and silver solder this assembly to the barrel.

The barrel has:

The chamber (and you'll need a chamber reamer for this -- and a headspace gauge)

The rifling. You can make a rifling cutter and rifling lathe -- but now you're into real work

Wilson 17&26
May 19, 2006, 08:47 PM
One of the few .32NAA barrels (only fit the First-Generation P-3AT) manufactured by Kel-Tec was sold earlier this month for $206. Two other Kel-Tec .32 NAA conversions were sold last year at lesser amounts. Itís sad that only 10 of these conversions were put into public hands.

brickeyee
May 19, 2006, 09:32 PM
The rifling is actually the hardest part.
Most pistol barrels have been broach or button rifled for a while.
A few are EDM.