Stuck case in Pro 1000?

PDA

darwin-t
May 21, 2006, 09:38 AM
I load 9mm with my Lee Pro 1000. I think I have a stuck case because when I lowered the ram the shellholder didn't come with it.:confused:

I resisted the urge to pry on anything until I got advice here. I'm using Lee dies, of course.

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y2/darwin-t/press3.jpg

If you enjoyed reading about "Stuck case in Pro 1000?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Uncle Don
May 21, 2006, 11:08 AM
Clean that rebated part of the ram with solvent and then get it good and dry. Raise it into the carrier and tighten that hex nut on the front of the carrier good and tight. That should bring the carrier back down and solve the problem.

scooterthegreat
May 21, 2006, 11:09 AM
I know I'm new to all this myself, but in "shopping", I distinctly remember seeing "Stuck case pullers" that you can buy.

Uncle Don
May 21, 2006, 11:14 AM
That isn't his problem in this case. The case is not really stuck but the tension in the die under normal circumstances was still higher than the tension of the carrier against the ram. If that occured, it was not tight enough in the first place.

If he had lowerd the carrier and case remained, then he would have had a true stuck case. In the case of Lee sizing dies, all you have to do is loosen the collet (but not remove it) and then use a 3/32 punch and strike the top of the decapping pin and drive it back out. There is a vide of it on Lee's website under "Help Videos".

scooterthegreat
May 21, 2006, 11:18 AM
Sorry - I missread....

darwin-t
May 21, 2006, 12:53 PM
I got it. I unscrewed the sizing die until the shellholder dropped, inserted the now clean ram into it and tightened everything back up.

Thanks for the help - I didn't want to screw anything up.

Rico567
May 22, 2006, 04:44 PM