S&W trigger history ?

PDA

777unch
May 25, 2006, 11:54 PM
Is there one?

What's the story behind the trigger? Shape, material, and Finnish? From the S&W's i've looked at there seems to be a consistent look and feel about the trigger. It's somewhat unfinished, yet smooth to the touch. Like it's "old school" or somethin'. It gives the pistol a bit of distinctness. A historic piece on a modern firearm.

I like it. Nothing wrong with it at all. just something makes me think there's a history behind the look and feel.

I'm new to revolvers, so if this is a noob question. My apologies. :confused: i've googled to no avail. i've also tried to sign up with smith-wessonforum.com, so i could search (no search for non-members). but my e-mail address is banned. (gmail :( )

Any thoughts?

Thanks!
M :)

If you enjoyed reading about "S&W trigger history ?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Majic
May 26, 2006, 07:12 AM
Well there is a big diference in how they are made today. Older triggers were machined from forged steel and today they made using the MIM process. Shapes have never changed because long ago everyone found what works. There may be a little variation, but basically the shape is the same. The same applies to material used to make them, except SS was used until a problem was found and they went back to carbon steel. Most triggers really aren't finished. They have a color casehardening which is more for strength than appearance.

777unch
May 26, 2006, 10:01 AM
Thanks Majic.

i was hoping MIM wouldn't be a part of it. It would have more weight with me if some old timer with a winston hangin' from his lip and rock like callused hands was machining each one.

So they keep the look and feel, and went to MIM. Now the old timer is in an air conditioned room pushing buttons on a computer. Or worse, collecting unemployment. :scrutiny: