Ruger's new site design does not work well for me


PDA






yhtomit
June 25, 2006, 10:40 PM
Am I the only one?

Looking at the newly revamped Ruger site () with Firefox on a Linux box, I have two major problems; there may be more problems of which I'm not even cognizant -- hard to know what I don't know.

1) The dark-grey menu bar at the top of -- the one that goes Firearms --> Online Store -- is broken for me; hovering over "Firearms," for instance, I get a "drop down menu" that drops down only one item -- it says "shotguns." I'm almost sure Ruger make other types of firearms, too, since I've bought a few of them :) For illustration: under the "Product Service" button, when I hover and get that drop-down, my only option is "Instruction Manuals," and so on down the line -- one choice only.

2) There are some "featured" items on the right: What's New, Featured Selection, and Featured Firearm. I suspect these are supposed to be links to more info about the products whose pictures I see and to a list of what's new generally. They don't work for me, though -- I can move my mouse all over them to no avail.

The fade-in "get more info" box referring to the P345 pictured in a shooter's hand on the front page does work for me, though.

I have trouble believing that they didn't test the page with Firefox, so perhaps this problem is somehow unique to me; I'm great at making problems appear, it seems. Later I'll check (too lazy now) whether it will work with Konqueror (it might) or Ephiphany (doubtful).

Anyone else have a reaction to it? Once it works with a browser that runs on my system (and is superior in many ways to IE for those on Windows, too), I think I'll be happy with it -- looks nice enough, and the old one was fine but a bit staid.

timothy

If you enjoyed reading about "Ruger's new site design does not work well for me" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
qlajlu
June 25, 2006, 11:30 PM
yhtomit, I just checked the Ruger Web site using Internet Explorer and had no problems. I am sure your problem is your Web browser (Firefox) because of the ActiveX controls that some Web pages require and Firefox does not use.

You can use Internet Explorer from within Firefox if you like. I am not familiar with Firefox, but apparently there is an extension you can use that will open the Internet Explorer window within Firefox.

yhtomit
June 25, 2006, 11:56 PM
qlajlu:

There may be a way to start IE from Firefox, and there are ways to make IE run under Linux, but I sure hope Ruger doesn't want to make its website difficult for Firefox users, whatever OS they're using, and I sure don't plan to put IE on my system. That would be like saying you can only correspond with the company by using Cross pens -- defeats the advantages of the neutrality of certain intermediary technologies.

My bank (credit union) became Firefox friendly after a brief foray into one-platform-only stupidity, and quickly enough that I didn't have to change banks. Maybe Ruger will wise up, too, and then again, maybe they figure that IE users are plenty of people to use their web site. Their decision, but I think it's a bad one. Fancy Schmancy ActiveX is fine, as long as they don't mind turning off some of their potential audience / customer base.

I work online, and I don't have a single coworker who uses IE as their primary browser, and at least one other of them has a Ruger or two. (Some people still use IE? Why?! :) No tabs, jillions of known security holes, the absence of most of the brilliant extensions for Firefox / Mozilla ... ) As of now, for me, their site is broken.

timothy

qlajlu
June 26, 2006, 12:04 AM
Just tryin' ta help ya. Weren't pushin' IE or nuthin'.

Hayward Juhbuzzoff
June 26, 2006, 12:06 AM
Because it's new, they probably have some bugs to iron out...

It works okay for me, but I noticed some errors in the content that they will likely be correcting shortly...

C96
June 26, 2006, 12:23 AM
It works for me using Firefox. I've got mine set pretty tight so no idea what your problem might be. :(

allan

yhtomit
June 26, 2006, 01:27 AM
qlajlu:

You wrote: "Just tryin' ta help ya. Weren't pushin' IE or nuthin'."

I hope I wasn't misunderstood -- I sure meant no offense. I appreciate what you said, and maybe I'll decide to get to a Windows-crippled computer when I want to read what's new at Ruger :) It's just that it doesn't work for me at the moment, with an up-to-date Firefox build.

Allan:

If you have a moment, I'd appreciate knowing what OS you're using, and what version of Firefox.

timothy

Kurush
June 26, 2006, 01:35 AM
Works for me too, firefox 1.5.0.4. I'll try it on my linux box later. Might be a bug (or lack of a bug :D ) in the linux version.

C96
June 26, 2006, 02:03 AM
I'm using 1.5.0.4 on XP Pro. Like Kurush said, maybe a feature in the Linux version.

I used to be a Unix hack before I retired and have thought of firing up a Linux box
but I mostly use my PC for photos, my music library as well as the usual web browsing
and email stuff.

I think I miss my command line work but not really sure. :confused:

allan

Steak
June 26, 2006, 03:24 AM
I use MAC OSX 10.4. Unix core as you probably know. I have used the site with Firefox and with Apple's safari (very similar), works fine. So, the fix they need is probably very miniscule, most definitely not a re-code of the site. Write to them, they can probably re-compile in a day or less to fix this little bug. They have no reason to WANT to shut people out. As a Mac user, I feel your pain from other 'broken' sites (to a lesser extent, but still). Usually a quick note to the webmaster can fix things right up.

Off topic: why people would use IE and windows is beyond me. Like leaving your car open, with the lights on, and all your credit card info, bank statements, and your wallet on the dash.

qlajlu
June 26, 2006, 03:45 AM
I'm just chuggin' along on a Windows 2000 Professional box. Haven't ever had any problems, but then I keep everything up to date. I download all the patches as soon as they are available and make sure my antivirus is up to date also. I suppose I have been fortunate after hearing some of the war stories that go around the net.

why people would use IE and windows is beyond me.
Everyone has their druthers.

DevLcL
June 26, 2006, 04:19 AM
I thought this was a gun thread?!

For the love of firearms would someone PLEASE close this thread?

Gotta go... the nerd alert siren is going off....

-Dev

If you enjoyed reading about "Ruger's new site design does not work well for me" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!