Baton carry in NC

PDA

WhiteKnight
July 9, 2006, 12:28 PM
Hello All,

I'm a university student with a penchant for late-night runs on a campus bordering a city with an exceptionally high crime rate.

I am considering purchasing an ASP baton for daily carry but am concerned with the legality. I've been looking on Google for about the past hour and can't really turn up anything.

Would I be able to carry one of these on campus here?

If you enjoyed reading about "Baton carry in NC" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
The Real Hawkeye
July 9, 2006, 01:09 PM
I'm sure it would be against university policy, and probably illegal. In Florida, you need a concealed weapons permit to carry a baton on your person, and we are pretty good on such things compared to most States.

That said, it's your life you are talking about. If it's concealed, it will never be known that you have it unless you are forced to use it in self defense. You have to ask yourself whether, after defending yourself, would you rather have been a victim of crime (perhaps dead) or subject to legal penalty? That's a no brainer for me, but I guess you have to answer the question for yourself.

PS: I've been highly skilled in nunkucks since I was a teenager (1970s), and stay in practice to this day. They are very concealable (and they make very compact models of high quality), and practice makes perfect. They are, once mastered, many times more effective in self defense than a baton.

Here's a custom made pair, constructed of coco bola wood, which is nice and heavy. I know, I know. My floor is disgusting.

Tim Burke
July 9, 2006, 01:41 PM