Century Int'l Arms FAL R1A1?

PDA

shllyshny
July 10, 2006, 04:55 PM
Have never had the chance to shoot one. Are they good? Bad? How is accuracy? Do they like SA ammo? Whats a good price to pay for a new one?

Thanks for any and all help,
shllyshny

If you enjoyed reading about "Century Int'l Arms FAL R1A1?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
gunshack
July 10, 2006, 06:43 PM
I have no first hand experience with a Century FAL, but I've been reading about them on the net for years.

If I'm not mistaken the R1A1 is kit rifle built on a Century brand receiver. I'm not certain about this because I know Century also built rifles using Imbel receivers, and I don't know if they are given the same designation. The Imbel is by far the better quality of the two.

It is common to hear about Century receivers that have feeding problems. This is usually attributable to what's known as the "uni-brow." Most FAL receivers have two distinct feeding ramps to guide cartridges from the mag to the chamber. To save on machining time Century cut only one ramp. Another common problem that Imbel receivers can't escape is barrel timing. I don't know how many forum threads I've read about Century FALs shooting to the left with the sight adjustment maxed out.

That's not to say all Century FALs are bad, but problems are common.

longhorngunman
July 10, 2006, 07:44 PM