.44spl vs. .45ACP for HD

PDA

Chris17404
July 18, 2006, 09:19 AM
Hi all,

I am relatively new to handguns. I just purchased my first handgun of any kind recently. It's a S&W 5946 from CDNN. I love it. I do already have an 870P as my primary HD gun, but let's say I wanted a backup gun also. I was just curious what your opinions were about a .44spl revolver versus a .45ACP for home defense.

I know many people recommend revolvers for HD simply because they are simpler to operate and *can* be more reliable. Let's not talk about bullet delivery mechanisms, but rather the cartridge. How does the .44spl round copmpare to the .45ACP round for defensive purposes? What are the pros and cons of each, and what particular brands of ammo do you recommend? Also, are either of these recommended over a .38spl +P round?

Thanks for your insight!

Chris

If you enjoyed reading about ".44spl vs. .45ACP for HD" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Bill B.
July 18, 2006, 09:56 AM
This is just my opinion ............ 45 ACP is easier to find in different bullet designs, weights, and with moon clips offers very fast reloads in a 45 ACP revolver. The 44 Special is more commonly found factory loaded with lead round nosed bullets. If you plan on handloading the 44 Special throw out what I said and go with the one you like best. I wouldn't make any difference between the two if both were shooting lead round nosed bullets. The 44 Special and the 45 ACP calibers are both excellent!