Best gun oil

PDA

Carbon_15
July 20, 2006, 07:02 AM
What is the best lubricating gun oil. I have never liked break-free because it wont stay put. I have been using Wilson Ultima-lube for a few years now but I'm running out and they don't sell it in my area. What is a good medium viscosity oil that will STAY WHERE YOU PUT IT..

Thanks
Jason

If you enjoyed reading about "Best gun oil" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
LAK
July 20, 2006, 07:25 AM
I use Tetra Gun products - especially the grease and lube oil. There are some oils which are claimed to "stay put" etc, but I have yet to actually use one. I suggest doing a forum keyword search like "best gun oil", best gun lube" etc. You'll get enough reading to keep you busy for a week :)

-------------------------------------------------

http://ussliberty.org
http://ssunitedstates.org

ugaarguy
July 20, 2006, 07:25 AM
I kid you not, get some Mobil 1 synthetic motor oil. It's made for lubricating parts with much tighter fit and much higher heat & stress than guns - vehicle engines. I recently switched to it and I'm very pleased. If you cant find a motor oil thats heavy enough to stick like you want try a good synthetic gear oil like what would be used in your vehicle's differential(s). Wanting something that stays on slide rails better I'll be trying Lucas Oil Stabilizer soon, and will post the results if anyone is interested. Anyway, even the Lucas Products stuff is cheap compared to "gun" oil and you get enought to last forever for just a few bucks.

dmckean44
July 20, 2006, 07:29 AM
I've also been using Mobil 1 and have been pleased with the results. And on rifles where I need grease I use synthetic grease intended for use in CV joints. I figure if it can take care of greasing CV joints it can take care of anything.

1 old 0311
July 20, 2006, 07:38 AM
Mobil 1. It will keep a $90,000 Ferrari engine going, also works well on my 10/22:evil: