Is my revolver supposed to be able to do this?

PDA

Surplussoldier
August 17, 2006, 11:29 AM
This is a bit of a silly question, but I am new at revolvers.

I have a S&W Model 28 and I found out that if I don't return the trigger completely after (dry)-firing a shot, and then pull the trigger softly, not all the way, I can cycle through the cylinder without having the hammer fall back all the way. So basically I can dry-fire rapidly and softly with the hammer not going fully taut each time.

It kind of reminds me of weakly cycling a lever action rifle. Is this okay to do or will it damage the mechanism from improper cycling?

Also, when I live fire it with .357 rounds, it sends some hot shavings to the sides. Not necessarily to the shooter, as this is rare, but to the people close to the side of me. It doesn ot do this with .38s. The gunsmith said that the timing was okay when I bought it.

If you enjoyed reading about "Is my revolver supposed to be able to do this?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Vern Humphrey
August 17, 2006, 12:23 PM
The timing is definitely not okay. This gun needs to go back to the factory.

Striker
August 17, 2006, 01:04 PM
Could be, but not necessarily a timing issue, that is causing the spitting. I have several S&W revolvers set up to stage for DA shooting, that will cycle as described. If the cylinder stop does not engage and lock up the cylinder before hammer fall, then it is a timing issue.

If it the cylinder locks up, then most likely is a cylinder gap problem. I recently purchased a used Model 13 that functioned as described and thought it was a timing problem. Turned out, after my gunsmith checked, to be a cylinder gap of 10 thousands or so. Gunsmith turned the barrel back one thread, and reset the gap to 4 thousands. Problem solved and I now have a custom mdl 13 with a barrel length of 3 15/16" :o