SHTF Rifle Poll

PDA

50caliber123
September 12, 2006, 07:09 AM
What do you guys use? I officially adopted the AK variants after rejecting the century arms Cetme. I keep an SKS as well, because the 7.62x39 is the perfect round for any civil unrest/shtf situation, short or long term. Far more durable and cheaper than an AR, important to me as I am a college student. My best friend kept his Cetme, so I scrambled and found a navy arms jungle carbine in .308 for ammo commonality between our fire team, keeping different calibers down to a minimum

If you enjoyed reading about "SHTF Rifle Poll" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
possum
September 12, 2006, 08:51 AM
I voted ar, just because they are so adaptable for various uses,. bi-pod no bi-pod, flashlights, night vision, Ir, and all that good stuff. One rifle can be used in almost any scenario that you would find yourself in. Just my opinion though.

Don't Tread On Me
September 12, 2006, 08:52 AM
What kind of SHTF? That term is so broad and general.

Right now, I have a Colt 6520 for SHTF. But in my view, SHTF is going to be a post-hurricane disaster or other such natural disaster, a riot, a terror attack that brings about a short-term chaos/panic/looting, and of course - a home invasion.

IF I were to include fighting a tyrannical government, participating in an insurgency against occupiers, participating in a civil war or revolution etc into my firearm strategy...then I'd move up in cartridge most likely to the 7.62x39mm AK platform or possibly to .308 in the form of a FAL or M1A. That kind of SHTF requires offensive (rather than only defensive) uses also, and that might include attacking/ambushing vehicles, buildings and other such positions where a little extra punch might come in handy.

ALL that being said, since I don't plan on latter stuff happening...the AR with .223 is plenty, plenty of gun.

Manedwolf
September 12, 2006, 09:27 AM