Lousy HD ammo

PDA

kannonfyre
September 18, 2006, 08:04 AM
but there's nothing else! I'm serious. :( Buckshot/slugs are only for LEOs/military in my country and the best that I could get from the only gunshop in town is 12ga 2 3/4" shells with a 32g loading of #4 birdshot.

I've heard dismal things about #8 and #7 1/2 birdshot but does #4 offer any penetrative improvement? If my target is less than 25 yards away, does a 28" barrel with a full choke give decent HD performance?

If you enjoyed reading about "Lousy HD ammo" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
nhhillbilly
September 18, 2006, 09:55 AM
Some of the most deadly shooting I have covered have been bird shot at room distance. 25 yards is a long way for personal defense. To long for bird shot I would believe if someone is wearing heavy winter clothing. But I have no direct experience with it at 25 yards.

hk lover
September 18, 2006, 09:58 AM
go to the box of truth.com it will give all pertinant info

LaEscopeta
September 18, 2006, 10:09 AM
Well, here is a test/analysis of #2 bird shot for self-defense use:

http://www.firearmstactical.com/briefs13.htm

Quoting from the above: "While the [#2 shot shell] does not meet the IWBA’s 12- to 18-inch penetration depth guidelines,
it is nonetheless adequate to use as the first one or two shots to be fired at an aggressor,
as long as deeper penetrating buckshot is available for subsequent shots, if needed.”

You are going to get a lot of different opinions and antidotes on how effective bird shot is or is not for self-defense,
most of it not backed up by any facts. One theory you will hear is all shot stays together in the shot cup at
across the room distances, before it starts to separate. This theory states all shots hits as a solid mass at these ranges,
and 1 oz. of #8 bird shot hits the same as 1 oz. 00 buck shot or an 1 oz. slug. In fact the pellets from