Winchester 1300 choke problems


PDA






SWC Bonfire
September 27, 2006, 04:14 PM
I did a search and didn't find what I was looking for... I recently wanted to swap out my improved cylinder choke tube on my Winchester 1300 12 gauge and the factory-original modified choke wouldn't tighten down. I finally got it somewhat seated and when I tried the first shot, it flew out of the barrel.

I cleaned the threads off with a toothbrush and WD-40 before I swapped them out and never applied what I would deem excessive force to screw the choke on, so I don't know what could have happened. It was not cross-threaded. The threads on the Mod choke tube are a bit shiny, but don't appear to be stripped hardly at all. I checked and the im. cyl. and full chokes tightened down just fine, so it's not the threads in the barrel. The mod choke can literally be pulled out by hand and the others fit tight. I mic'ed the choke and it is about the same diameter (evidently it is tapered).

I suppose I'll have to get a new 3rd party modified choke, but considering that was the first time it had been used is somewhat disappointing. Has anyone else had this problem? Is is something you can cure with a low-strength thread locker (ie, hand tool removal), or is that going to make it impossible to remove?

If you enjoyed reading about "Winchester 1300 choke problems" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Onmilo
September 28, 2006, 10:46 AM
The choke is bad, do not attempt to use it again.
You will have to buy a replacement Modified choke tube.
The good new is that if you can't find a Winchester tube, a Mossberg Accu-choke for the Model 500, not the Model 835, or a Browning Invect-choke will work.
All three use the same threading and overall choke tube depth. HTH

SWC Bonfire
September 29, 2006, 12:03 PM
Well, I went to Cabela's and got a Carlson's replacement tube. Although it is a different design (fits flush inside bbl, doesn't have an exposed knurled end, is unblued stainless), it fit right in like it was supposed to.

I suppose the factory Winchoke was defective. The full and IC work just fine.

If you enjoyed reading about "Winchester 1300 choke problems" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!