Why are AR-15's so expensive?

PDA

Remander
October 1, 2006, 02:27 AM
I have a Bushmaster AR-15 (love it) and was carrying it the other day when I looked at it at wondered why such a light, simple rifle costs so much.

The patent has expired, so no licensing fees to Colt.

I thought about the many other guns that cost so much less and seem to be as complex or require as much material. Most all revolvers, basic semi-auto pistols, bolt hunting rifles, basic semi-auto shotguns and the like cost much less than the basic AR, which looks like it could be stamped out in a tin can factory.

I'm not dogging AR's, I love them, but why do they cost so much?

And don't say supply and demand. I know that is what all prices come down to, but there are plenty of AR suppliers out there these days. Why can't one of them get the price lower for the product.

I'm not bitching. I've got mine. I am genuinely curious. There must be something about the construction/compostion that keeps the price up there.

If you enjoyed reading about "Why are AR-15's so expensive?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
beerslurpy
October 1, 2006, 02:34 AM
Because they are machined out of a single billet of aluminum and they have fairly close tolerances that must be respected in order for the finished gun to work properly.

AK's can be stamped (rivet holes and all) in a big press all day long and then assembled for a few dollars of labor per receiver.

Handgun Midas
October 1, 2006, 02:57 AM
There are sub-$500 kits complete except for the stripped lower receiver available online, and said receiver can be had for around $50.

So one could expect a complete AR for around $550, less than I paid for my Kimber, which is just a simple, old pistol design.

I don't have my AR yet, but this is the entry I was planning on. Correct me if I'm mistaken.

beardownwildcat
October 1, 2006, 03:30 AM