9mm, 40 cal, or 10mm?

PDA

dandamien
October 3, 2006, 08:39 AM
I'm new to shooting and was looking for some advice before buying my first gun. I have decided to go with a Glock but I'm trying to decide between the 9mm, 40 cal, or 10mm. My situation is that I am looking for a weapon primarily for self defense purposes. I have shot both the 9mm and 40 cal and seem to be far more accurate in the 9mm. I believe itís the recoil in the 40 that's causing the drop in accuracy, but I heard it will come around in time. I am approaching my first purchase with the idea of quality over quantity. So with that said I'm just being really selective before I buy.
One of the factors I am taking into account is the cost of ammo. The 9mm is the cheapest to shoot but if the 40 is really more effective (given that I am equally accurate with each) in terms of stopping power I am willing to suck it up. Part of my reasoning is that I donít want to regret getting the right fit just to save a few bucks.
As far as the 10mm goes I still need to try it out before I make my final decision but it is my understanding the recoil is similar to the 40. I also understand the ammo isn't necessarily hard to find but itís not as common as the 9mm or 40 cal.
So I guess it really comes down to whether the 9mm will do me right or if I should go with the 40 cal and just get used to the recoil, and the accuracy will eventually come around? Also is the power in the 10 mm worth the extra ammo costs and drop in accuracy or will the other 2 do the trick? I am looking for a good weapon to learn on but also one in which I wont grow out of easily. Also I wonder if its better to have the 9mm which seems to be able to get off more shots in less time than the 40 cal or 10mm, or am I wrong?
I have been reading the discussion boards and I respect your opinions. I would really appreciate any insight that might help with my first purchase. Thanks,
dan