357 Magnum semi-auto

PDA

strat81
October 6, 2006, 08:19 PM
OK, I have a good question to redeem me for my "pink muffs" question...

I'm new to firearms and have been trying to digest as much info about them as I can. Being new, much of my 'knowledge' comes from Hollywood and videogames so, of course, 357 Magnum has some mystique to it.

While searching for my first pistol, the only semi-auto I found that is chambered for the 357 Mag is the Desert Eagle. Are there any others still in production? By far, the most common auto-pistol calibers are 9x19, .40 S&W, and .45 ACP. Why aren't there more 357 Mag autos? Is there an engineering reason behind it, or is it a business/marketing one?

I am NOT debating whether or not the 357 Magnum cartidge is better or worse than any other round, so I'd rather not start a whizzing match about what is "better", has more "stopping power", or has better terminal ballistics.

If you enjoyed reading about "357 Magnum semi-auto" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
thumper723
October 6, 2006, 08:27 PM
For starters, the 357 is a rimmed cartridge.

Most semis are rimless (9x19, 45ACP, 357Sig, 40S&W) or Semi-Rimmed (25 ACP).

Also, the 357 is longer than most semi cartridges. This makes fitting in a magazine difficult.

I have seen 1911s chambered in 38 Special, but that is a tad shorter than 357 (it is the 357s parent cartridge), and only shot wadcutters (they do not stick out past the end of the brass).

I'm sure other can give better reasons, but from an engineering/fit standpoint, that is a couple big ones.

ugaarguy
October 6, 2006, 08:40 PM
Why aren't there more 357 Mag autos? Is there an engineering reason behind it, or is it a business/marketing one?

Outside of the Desert Eagle, the no longer prroduced Coonan, which is a 1911 based design, is the only other 357 mag auto I know of.