Advice for a novice: Laws & reulations concerning firearms(handguns) in NewYork

PDA

ClammaCleeta
May 15, 2003, 04:30 PM
hello all,

First off, I can't tell you how grateful I am that a forum like this exists. Just floating through this place I've gained an inordinate amount of knowledge, unparalleled to anyting I came up with even after doing a thousand searches on google or yahoo.

Basically, I've joined because we can all only take so much abuse, and we can only take so much for granted. I live here Buffalo, NY, not a bad place to live, and not excessively violent.
Then there is my apartment building. There have been a number of incidents mostly theft and assault, since I have moved in last September, none involving me, until now.

I'm a college student, and mostly on weekends, a guitarist in a bluegrass/blues rock band. I keep some rather expensive equipment in my apartment from time to time, or at my drummers home. I'm adament about locking all the doors closing the windows, I even keep a beware of dog sign on one of them, althhough there are no pets allowed here. Anyways, as you may have concluded, I was robbed. I overlooked an open window one night, and appearently they cut the window mesh from the bottom and came right in.
Over a thousand dollars in pedal equipment, a cheap acoustic guitar, and a my 13" TV. Thank God I kept most of my equipment at my drummers home, after a gig.
:banghead: But what irks me the most, :cuss: is that I was in the next room sleeping when it happened.:fire: I don't want to idle over what could have happened, but I can't help it. No physical harm to me, but the damage has been done. I asked for info on another local music forum, a member gave me a link for here.

Mainly, I'm looking to keep a firearm in my home as a deterrent and self-defense. But I'd love to shooting at the range and possibly take up hunting.