Tikka T3 Lite scope rings.


PDA






JTW Jr.
October 17, 2006, 02:06 AM
I just bought a Tikka T3 Lite in .308 recently , ordering a Super Sniper 10x scope for it this week. I have had a few shooters tell me the factory rings aren't up to the task of holding up to much 308 shooting.

For anyone else using a Tikka T3 , what rings did you use ? 30mm.

thanks.

John

If you enjoyed reading about "Tikka T3 Lite scope rings." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
BrainOnSigs
October 17, 2006, 10:59 AM
Tikka Optilocks worked well for me but I eventually went to Warne rings. The rings provided are not very good.

Karbon
October 17, 2006, 11:04 AM
I wondered this as well when I bought my Tikka, ss Lam in .270wsm.

Several memeber on this site have had no issues with the factory rings. Do a search and you might find those threads. One of the members has a .300wsm and has had zero movement so far with the factory rings. Now there are better ones out there, but the factory rings seem to be just fine so far.

I've put 80 140grain Accubonds through mine and my Burris is still dead on.

SuperMidget
October 17, 2006, 03:06 PM
I've got a T3 Hunter .270 wcf with the factory rings. 5+ Boxes and no change in zero. Even survived the bounce test when I adjusted the trigger. There may be better rings out there, but I'm going to go with ain't broke don't fix.

JTW Jr.
October 17, 2006, 09:18 PM
I think I will go ahead and use the scope rings that came with it and see how they hold up. If I wait to mount the scope til I save the scratch for Warne rings , I wont get to shoot this T3 for awhile.

thanks for the info , much appreciated it.

If ( or when ) the factory rings fail I will make sure to post my round count.

hoghunting
October 18, 2006, 01:05 AM
JTW,

I'm the one with the 300 WSM that Karbon mentioned. I have over 400 rounds through this rifle with the factory rings. If I ever had a problem with these rings, I would have replaced them. Nothing has moved since installing them. I have also heard stories of people having problems with the factory rings, but if the rings are perfect for the 300 WSM, I don't know how they won't hold up to a 308.

JTW Jr.
October 18, 2006, 01:27 AM
thanks , that is good to know. I appreciate your info.

Karbon
October 18, 2006, 10:01 AM
I knew you'd pop in on this one Hoghunting. :)

If the factory offerings worked for your 300wsm, I knew that had to work for a 308 (depending on the scope...) Your success with them was proof enough for me and my .270wsm.

atomchaser
October 18, 2006, 10:11 AM
I have a 270 WSM and had the factory rings installed and had no problems with movement. The problem I had was not being able to move the scope back far enough to get the proper eye relief. I have since installed Burris dual dovetail bases and signature rings. These are rock solid and and you don't have to worry about the scope getting scratched by the rings.

BrainOnSigs
October 18, 2006, 10:53 AM
If I wait to mount the scope til I save the scratch for Warne rings , I wont get to shoot this T3 for awhile.


:confused:

I paid $39 for the Warne rings on my Tikka.

TJGeneral Store (http://www.tjgeneralstore.com/warne_maxima_mounts.htm)

JTW Jr.
October 18, 2006, 11:34 AM
cool , I hadnt found those , everything I looked at were well over $125.

thanks !! :cool:

If you enjoyed reading about "Tikka T3 Lite scope rings." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!