SKS Quality

PDA

MarkDido
May 19, 2003, 01:56 PM
First, I would like to say that I appreciate everyone who posts on this board.

I'm new to long guns, and I read THR every day after work. I have yet to read post by anyone that even vaguely approaches a flame, or comes across as having an attitude. I appreciate all the time and information y'all take to help us newbies. Thanks!

My spousal unit (God love her) has accepted my new fascination with long guns, especially C & R stuff.

After reading probably a thousand posts on this board, I 've decided that my next 2 guns will be one of the SKS type, and one of the bolt-action Mauzer type.

I probably (notice I said probably) won't be collecting more than one of each type (Lack of space, funds and a high-maintenance 5 year old grand-daughter that we're raising)

So, in terms of quality and durability, which SKS and Mauzer would you recommend for someone who will only have one of each?

I'm leaning towards the Yugo because I have read so much about them here, but I'm still waffling about which type mauzer (MN, but made by whom)

Thanks in advance!

If you enjoyed reading about "SKS Quality" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Dorrin79
May 19, 2003, 03:25 PM
Yugo guns, in my experience, are awesome.

I have a Yugo SKS with about 700 rounds through it. Never missed a beat, and pretty darn accurate out to 100 yds. (haven't shot it past that range yet) I paid $180 for it with cleaning kit, sling, etc. Condition was 100% on the metal, 95% or so on the wood (there are some stains, possibly from the cosmoline?, on the stock)

I also have a Yugo M48 in 8mm mauser, which is based on the 98K Mauser design. It's extremely accurate and well-made, although it has ferocious recoil. I paid $150 for mine in 95% or so condition (a few scratches on the finish, but a very nice stock)

In short, you can't go wrong with a Yugo milsurp.

Peter Gun