Revolver question

PDA

Kahramon
November 8, 2006, 05:27 AM
I am new in firearms and have a question in particular regarding revolvers.
Is there any possibility to mount a silencer/sound suppressor on a revolver. If yes, can you describe the process how it is done and attach some pictures, please?

If you enjoyed reading about "Revolver question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Jim March
November 8, 2006, 06:34 AM
Possible, yeah, but it tends not to work very well. Too much sound escapes through the gap between the barrel and cylinder.

The "how" is easy. Mount the front sight back a bit, thread the outside of the barrel ahead of it, screw the "silencer" onto the barrel. The threaded barrel will make the gun illegal in some states though...California for one.

Eightball
November 8, 2006, 06:35 AM
Yes, but it is not worth the effort. Special pains have to be taken to close the cylinder gap, which is where hot gases escape and create noise, regardless of the muzzle. It has been done, though--people have closed the cylinder gap somehow and had an "integrally silenced" barrel threaded in.

If you want silenced, get an auto--you could probably buy a nice kimber, get a custom threaded barrel, and a nice can for it for the same price as modifying a revo to be able to do so.

Or just buy one of these things: http://world.guns.ru/handguns/hg194-e.htm

miko
November 8, 2006, 04:19 PM
Russinn Nagants do not have a gap issue - there is a complete seal when the round is fired. Nagants have been successfully equipped with silencers by special ops.

miko

Ron James
November 8, 2006, 06:33 PM
You can also check with http://www.atf.gov/ for advise.

Ron James
November 8, 2006, 07:42 PM
PS, It wouldn't supprise me if this was a "bait" question from a rookie ATF agent looking for browine points from his boss.

wdlsguy
November 8, 2006, 07:53 PM