Snap Caps

PDA

wvhunter
November 10, 2006, 10:43 AM
I am still relatively new to firing my 30.06 and still getting used to the recoil issue and trigger pull. I can get about 3 inch groupings at 100 yards with a few that hit out of that circle. I think I do ok during the first 6-10 shots then I start getting recoil shy and get jerky with the trigger. I generally tend to place a pad against my arm after a few shots on the range to help out. I was wondering if practicing trigger pull with snap caps would be a good idea. Would this harm the firing pin at all after repeated use?

If you enjoyed reading about "Snap Caps" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Dave Rishar
November 10, 2006, 03:18 PM
Dry firing with Snap Caps isn't any more harmful than running ammunition through it.

Without starting the infamous dry firing = damage debate, the vast majority of firearms can be dry fired with nothing in the chamber without hurting anything. Consult your owner's manual for more information; if it says that dry firing is fine, skip the Snap Caps and spend the money on more ammunition instead.

EDIT: Forgot to mention that dry firing is an effective and inexpensive method for maintaining and even improving marksmanship if you can reliably call your shots and you're honest with yourself.

wvhunter
November 10, 2006, 05:12 PM
I have a tikka t3 30.06. I went to the their website and read the manual, but there is no mention of dry firing. Does anyone with a tikka suggest it?

Koobuh
November 10, 2006, 06:12 PM
The whole point of snap caps is to protect the firing pin/other action parts from damage while dry firing. ;)
Even if the manual says dry-firing is OK, I'd still use snap caps. The nicest cost... what, $8 for two off of Midway? How much does gunsmithing work/parts cost nowadays?
I look at it as cheap insurance.