Is the 4 inch 357 Magnum overrated???

PDA

Greg8098
November 18, 2006, 11:36 AM
I've always heard that the standard factory 125 gr. bullet exits the muzzle at approx. 1450 fps, therefore having a considerable lead over the 357 sig @ 1350 fps. But I now hear that the true velocity from the revolver is actually around 1350 fps :scrutiny: . Anyone know of this??

If you enjoyed reading about "Is the 4 inch 357 Magnum overrated???" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Cousin Mike
November 18, 2006, 12:26 PM
First, 100 fps is a marginal difference. You can shoot ammo from the same box that might vary that much. Differences between .357 Mag and .357SIG are also minimal IMO. Same weight, same speed = same thing. The .357 Magnum (9x33mm) uses a much longer round than the .357SIG (9x21mm, IIRC), and since I'm not an expert I won't even pretend to know how that affects wounding capability.

If you want a .357, then IMHO, it should be all about the platform you want to shoot it from. Small & light, medium size/weight, or big & heavy? Capacity is another factor. Guns chambered for .357SIG usually hold 10-12 rounds. Most guns chambered for .357 Magnum are revolvers, and hold between 5 and 8 in the cylinder. The desert eagle is the only auto I know of chambered in .357 Magnum, and holds 7+1 IIRC.

.357 Magnum is a helluvalot louder than .357SIG, and the recoil is different. The .357 Magnum has been around for quite a while and has had a long time to prove itself - that's why most people prefer the .357 Magnum.

As for what the projectile is going to do to a human being, I'm of the belief that once you get above 9mm, it all does the same thing.

If you're like me and it seems too close to call, just get both. :)

Jim March
November 18, 2006, 12:37 PM