SA vs DA (DAO?) ?

PDA

2ndAmendment
November 21, 2006, 09:33 PM
Please excuse the noobness, but I just need to ask. I am new to the whole gun world, and have yet to take any classes yet. I've heard many people speak of different attributes of handguns, and am just curious as to the difference between single action and double action? Any other input/general info you feel necessary to share with a noob would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

If you enjoyed reading about "SA vs DA (DAO?) ?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
ugaarguy
November 21, 2006, 09:45 PM
Hopefully this will help, http://www.corneredcat.com/Words/Glossary.htm. The rest of the site is full of good info, and the author, THR Moderator Pax, says it better than I can. Take a look at it and hopefully it'll help answer alot of questions. If you need more info/clarification please keep asking here.

DRMMR02
November 21, 2006, 09:49 PM
I prefer DA/SA. DAO guns generally don't have a manual safety, and instead rely on the longer DA trigger pull to keep the weapon safe. SA only guns like the 1911 are generally carried "cocked and locked" where the hammer is cocked back while carrying. I am not a big fan of this. DA/SA allows you to carry with the safety on-hammer down, safety off-unchambered, safety on-hammer cocked, etc. You can draw and fire the first shot in DA if you wish, or you can draw and cocked the hammer with your thumb, or while chambering a round. Then if you prefer you can either already have the safety off, or you can flick it off with your thumb before you fire. DA/SA really gives you the most options depending on what you want.

Dienekes
November 21, 2006, 10:13 PM