How do you chose loads without chrono?


PDA






Luggernut
November 24, 2006, 10:15 PM
Well I've been realoding for a couple months now. Have tried various loads of W231 and Alliant Power Pistol and Bullseye in 9mm, .40S&W and .45 ACP.

All loads functioned well in my guns except the starting load of W231- wouldn't eject cases and had a couple jams. I could certainly tell the difference from the starting loads and the max loads of the powders.

Accuracy from my handguns (Sigs/Glocks) at 20-50ft all seemed good for me with the various loads.

How do you guys chose the load you want if you don't have a chrono and aren't looking for 100yd accuracy from a Sig/Glock?

If you enjoyed reading about "How do you chose loads without chrono?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Pumpkinheaver
November 24, 2006, 10:19 PM
I just pick an accurate and reliable load and stick with it. I have a chronograph but consistant velocity does not always mean the most accurate load. It does mean that it is probably in the running but it's not set in stone.

JDGray
November 25, 2006, 04:42 PM
You are right, everything seems the same at 20'-50':D To pick an accurate load, you must shoot at least 50' preferable 75', off a good rest. If all your shooting is up close, I'd use the powder that gives the most for your money. I use Clays in both 9mm & .45, 3.6g- 3.9g, in both calibers, it goes along ways, its relativly clean, and accurate.:)

The Bushmaster
November 25, 2006, 04:50 PM
No chronograph??? Then do as the above people have suggested. Stay within the load manual boundries. Pick the most accurate loading for your firearm and have a ball. That's how I got started and I wasn't too surprised or disapointed when I was able to use a chronograph on my favorite loads. I would suggest that you save up for a chronograph as they are rather indispensable when working up a load at or near the maximum...

Shoney
November 25, 2006, 05:20 PM
Before I got my chrono, I selected the most accurate load, which did not exceed the max listed load. Pressure signs are not a good way to determine excessive pressure in pistols.

If loads were equal in accuracy, I select the one that is closest to 100% load density, which almost eliminates chance of double charge.

Now that I have a chrono, it only lets me know what velocity pistols are shooting. If I were to wish to load over max, it would show velocity spikes, if there were any. Not a good way to go.

The chrono is most valuable in loading rifle cartridges.

If you enjoyed reading about "How do you chose loads without chrono?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!