Revolver question

PDA

Peetmoss
December 24, 2002, 08:44 PM
I am pretty new to the world of handguns just got my permit last week and before that it was a crime to even look at one funny:( So today I was using a friends GP100 at the range and when I went to drop out the spent brass I would get one or two that would stick in the wheel. Is this normal in revolvers, and if so how can one be used as a defensive weapon?

If you enjoyed reading about "Revolver question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
burrhead
December 24, 2002, 09:05 PM
Umm, just to make sure we're both on the same page. You did push the ejector rod? That's the rod that sticks out the front of the cylinder. BTW, that "wheel" is properly called a cylinder.

JackM
December 24, 2002, 09:18 PM
Assuming you pushed on the ejector rod, did the ones on top drop in front of the ejector star. If so, tilt the gun up and give the rod a swift stroke, so they all drop clear.

If one or two are sticky, the chambers may need cleaning. There's also a chance the ejector star is out of alignment on a couple of chambers. In that case, the cases might be binding. Usually in revolvers with that problem, you have to give the ejector rod a hard push, and the cases fly free. If everythings clean and lined up, it takes a very light push on the ejector rod to empty the cylinder. Just a little puzzled. :confused:

Bye
Jack

C.R.Sam
December 24, 2002, 09:27 PM
I like to empty with the muzzle elevated, stroke the ejector rod smartly full travel, then lower the muzzle to reload.

Elevated muzzle with brisk ejector rod action helps throw the empties clear and minimizes the chance of unburned powder or other debris getting between the star and the cylinder.

Sam

RustyHammer
December 24, 2002, 09:39 PM