Getting started handloading... Suggestions?

PDA

Odnar
December 1, 2006, 02:34 PM
I'm sure this is going to be a highly debatable question, but here goes:

I'd like to get into handloading for rifle and handgun calibers, what kind of price range should I reasonably expect? I'm sure there isn't really an upper limit, but I don't need a gold plated powder measure. :D What items/equipment will I need, what should I expect to spend, and what brands have a reputation for reliability or unreliability? (I know everyone has their preferences, but sometimes certain turds stand out.)

I've been reloading 12ga for about six years now with a MEC 600 JR Mark 5. Now I'd like to reload .40, .38, .357, 6.5x55, .308, and 30-30. Thanks for any suggestions!

After some more browsing, I ran across this post:

http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?t=237809

That's chock full of info and should probably be stickied!

If you enjoyed reading about "Getting started handloading... Suggestions?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
P0832177
December 1, 2006, 04:59 PM
Your first step is buying the best reference book or what I call Reloading for Dummies or The ABC's of Reloading from Krause Publications.

There are several great reloading manuals of the real kind not the freebee ones! Paperback manuals are good for cross referencing data, at times. For meaty manuals a person can not go wrong with the Lyman48th and Sierra. One must always look at the loads when you compare data. Especially in larger calibers as some data might be using different brass from yours. Case in point Hodgdon used WW brass to work up loads with, whereas Sierra used Fed cases in their 308 Winchester loading information.