Academic Discussion

PDA

The1911Man
December 7, 2006, 03:10 PM
Hi, newbie here. I am interested in checking both sides of the "Gun Rights" issue and this site was recommended. So please, humor a fence sitter and please put forth some academic discussion.

Isn't the second Amendment for Militias only?
How does the second Amendment apply to an individual?
Why is banning certain types of guns like assault rifles a bad thing?
Why is registering your guns a bad idea?

Please no flames, I won't speak to members who put the flames out and it won't do your cause any good.

Thanks
The1911man

If you enjoyed reading about "Academic Discussion" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
jnojr
December 7, 2006, 03:21 PM

No. A "militia" is made up of "The People". And "The People" in the Second Amendment are the same "The People" in all the rest of them.

"A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed."

That's how.

Why should "assault rifles" be banned? And what good do those "bans" do? Cocaine and heroin are "banned", but easily available just about everywhere.

We do not need to defend how or why we exercise our rights. You need to defend why it's necessary to infringe upon our rights.

Why is registration a good idea?

Registration leads to confiscation. That's what the Nazis did, among others... make everyone register so they knew where to go when it waas time to round up the guns and "troublemakers".