AR series question


PDA






loki.fish
December 7, 2006, 05:10 PM
First I apologize for not knowing my gun parts very well, so you might not know what I'm talking about.

In a nutshell, I'm wanting an AR-10 to put a bipod and scope on for some long distance shooting. I've never put a bipod on a rifle....actually I only own a couple rifles so this is all pretty new territory for me. Looking at various pics of AR-10s, it looks like the bipod is mounted in front of the, I'm guessing here, forearm on the ARs. Is this the gas block? If I bought an AR that didn't have a "gas block" with a spot to mount a bipod, would it still be possible to put a bipod on without having a quad rail or rail on the "gas block"? I'd rather not buy an AR-10 that isn't setup to take the few things I want to put on it. A scope is easy, just need a flattop. I'm assuming all ARs have a place to attach a sling. The bipod is the only thing messing with my head.

If you enjoyed reading about "AR series question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
blackhawk2000
December 7, 2006, 06:32 PM
For long distance shooting with an AR type rifle, I would mount the bipod to a free float forend/handguard. www.ar15.com can help you out. Be careful though, there are some jerks on that board, to put it politely.

ocabj
December 7, 2006, 06:54 PM
Check out f-classinfo.com. The site operator uses an AR in .223 for F-Class:

http://www.f-classinfo.com/page3/page3.html

First of, you should not use any AR without a free float tube of some type for long range shooting.

That said, depending on the handguards, you can mount a Harris bipod to it. Harris makes one that fits standard AR type handguards. As far as handguards with Picatinny rails, various manufacturers such as Larue make bipod adapters for the Harris.

If you enjoyed reading about "AR series question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!