Brass brushes wearing out?

PDA

Thundercleese
May 26, 2003, 12:24 AM
So, I've been using the same brass brush for maybe 3 years on my trusty ol' .308. I swear that it feels "looser" when I use it these days than before. Not that it goes through the bore completely loose; but it feels like ramming it back and forth is easier than it used to be.

Should I invest a few $ in a new brush or am I just imagining things?

If you enjoyed reading about "Brass brushes wearing out?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
sm
May 26, 2003, 12:37 AM
Brushes wear, also the solvent will "eat" the bronze/brass away.
Rinsing helps prolong...but eventually will need to be replaced.

Good for a while on a smaller caliber.

Cactus
May 26, 2003, 01:23 AM
The brass brushes are supposed to wear! You wouldn't want a brush that is harder than your barrel now, would you!:eek:

RussB
May 26, 2003, 01:30 AM
3 years! WOW!

You either don't shoot much, or don't clean much. A brush lasts for a finite amount of time. They do wear, you know. Time for a new brush.

Wildalaska
May 26, 2003, 01:56 AM
I change mine every ten cleanings or so. No prob at $1.99 per

WildcheapenoughAlaska

clown714
May 26, 2003, 08:03 AM
yep,they wear out.

i,usually buy my brushes in bulk at the gun shows.

usually about a buck a piece.

clown

stevelyn
May 26, 2003, 10:56 AM
They do wear out. The type of solvent you use could accelerate the process. A solvent used as a copper remover will eat up a brush faster than the old GI bore cleaner. I had a brush wear out in 4-6 cleanings while using Shooters Choice years ago.

uglymofo
May 26, 2003, 01:17 PM