6.5MM Version of the 6MM SAW?

PDA

Tequila jake
December 21, 2006, 12:10 AM
Does anybody know if there was ever a 6.5MM version of the proposed 6MM SAW cartridge developed? If so, what are/were the specifications as far as bullet weight, muzzle velocity, SD, BC, etc.?

Tequila Jake:confused:

If you enjoyed reading about "6.5MM Version of the 6MM SAW?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
rangerruck
December 21, 2006, 02:22 AM
proly the 6.5 grendel, cartridge will proly not work on a say, the shoulder is to close to the top of the pawl. then that means they will have to change too much stuff in the saw , to get it to run.

Tequila jake
December 21, 2006, 10:19 AM
Rangerruck,

I'm somewhat familiar with the 6.5 Grendel, but that wasn't what I was thinking of.

I don't think I understand the rest of your post, probably because I'm no expert when it comes to cartridge design. Can you explain exactly what you meant?

Thanks,

Tequila Jake

DogBonz
December 21, 2006, 10:44 AM
the cartridge is too short for the current links of the belt used to feed the gun.

DogBonz
December 21, 2006, 10:49 AM
www.65grendel.com/

HorseSoldier
December 21, 2006, 11:08 AM
I'm certainly no expert, but have never encountered any mention of a 6.5mm version of the 1970s-era 6mm SAW cartridge (general note: zero relationship to 6.5mm Grendel in any way, shape, or form). That does not mean such did not occur, but I would think that the development of SS109/M855 62 grain 5.56mm ammo would have limited real interest (as it did with the basic 6mm round) at the time such research would likely have been occurring.

Tequila jake
December 21, 2006, 11:59 AM
HorseSoldier and others,