colt det.spl 38spl for 359.00?

PDA

ca-c54
December 22, 2006, 07:36 PM
I saw one in the gun shop today for 359.00.I'm new to handguns i don't know if this is a good price or not.It seems tight the bluing is a little rough the original grips are in good condition.I've been wanting one but don't know if there are better deals out there.Your opinions would be greatly appriciated. Thanks Jay.

If you enjoyed reading about "colt det.spl 38spl for 359.00?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
GunNut
December 22, 2006, 08:10 PM
Kind of depends on how old the gun is and if it comes in the original box.

Bluing wear is ok, rust and pitting is bad.

It's in the ballpark, but maybe just a little high.

Steve

carpettbaggerr
December 23, 2006, 07:47 PM
To get an idea about prices you can try

gunbroker.com

gunsamerica.com

auctionarms.com

Have fun. And welcome to THR :)

Jim K
December 23, 2006, 07:54 PM
I would consider that OK only on a near new gun. Ones in average condition can be found for $50-100 less.

FWIW, I consider those DA Colts one of the "sleepers" of the gun world and especially the collecting fraternity. They are often found in excellent condition (sock drawer) or with worn blue but functionally perfect. And I have little doubt that the low prices seen today will not last long; already guns that sold for $100-150 a couple of years ago are bringing twice that, and a few uncommon guns go for much higher prices.

Jim

The Real Hawkeye
December 23, 2006, 08:04 PM