Powder Company Consolidation

PDA

Eagle103
December 23, 2006, 11:01 AM
I'm pretty new to the hobby but I've noticed, as I'm sure most other reloaders have, that there's been some major consolidation among the powder companies lately. It looks like Hodgdon wants to be the big player here in taking over IMR and Winchester.
Western owns Ramshot and Accurate. Vihta Vouri and Alliant/Hercules are the other two main players.
So basically we're looking at four powder companies now where a while ago there were eight. (Please correct me if I'm wrong.)
I can see where there would be some economies of scale in distribution and some other reasons for this but I don't normally see consolidation as a good thing for the consumer. It can hinder new product development and prices often go up. Competition is the key. I don't look to the government to take much interest in consolidation among the gunpowder companies.:rolleyes: Where's Teddy Roosevelt when you could really use him.:D
I know I'll be trying to do more business with the "little" guys (non-Hodgdon) when possible. What are your thoughts.

If you enjoyed reading about "Powder Company Consolidation" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
armoredman
December 23, 2006, 11:43 AM
Not to mention, I have been told almost all our powder comes from overseas. Imagine a Executive Order banning importation of reloading powder...who makes local stuff?

snuffy
December 23, 2006, 01:53 PM
I can see where there would be some economies of scale in distribution and some other reasons for this but I don't normally see consolidation as a good thing for the consumer. It can hinder new product development and prices often go up. Competition is the key. I don't look to the government to take much interest in consolidation among the gunpowder companies. Where's Teddy Roosevelt when you could really use him.