Noob Squirrel Question

PDA

javacodeman
January 5, 2007, 11:35 AM
Is it common to hunt squirrels with .22s? If so, how do you ensure that a missed shot won't hit an unintended target, say if you're aiming at one on a 10ft limb? As the title says, I am a noob, but looking to start hunting to obtain this skill should it be needed if SHTF, EOTWAWKI, etc., so please correct any assumptions/errors that I've made.

java

If you enjoyed reading about "Noob Squirrel Question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
javacodeman
January 5, 2007, 12:12 PM
I guess no one hunts squirrels?? Or is a shotgun always used??

java

Jimmy Newman
January 5, 2007, 12:16 PM
I've done some squirrel hunting. I have occasionally used shotguns but usually use a .22 rifle. Where I squirrel hunt is very dense pine woods where there's pretty much always another branch or tree trunk behind any target. In more open areas it might be an issue.

It's good that you're thinking about things like this.

308win
January 5, 2007, 01:08 PM
You need to be sure of your target and what is behind it. Common sense will tell you when you should/shouldn't take the shot.

Ned Flangers
January 5, 2007, 01:09 PM
Many wildlife areas have limitations on what you can shoot with. Several near me prohibit single projectile firearms, so shotguns are it. Be sure to check area rules first. And like you said, always be aware what is past your target.

MDHunter
January 5, 2007, 01:55 PM
I hunt squirrels with a .22 and .22 Magnum. The only tree shots I take are when the squirrel is flattened out on the large portion of the tree, with a good 4-6" of tree on either side of him if I miss (i.e., making sure of my target and backstop).

If they're on a small limb or on the side of the tree, I pass on the shot. If you're patient, they'll usually give you a shot with a good backstop.

Hope this helps, good luck, and welcome to hunting and the world of guns!