how many primers do you load into your....


PDA






SSN Vet
January 23, 2007, 04:48 PM
Lee Auto-Prime II?

I'm reading through the second edition of Modern Reloading and their "new" guidance is to not load more than TEN Winchester large rifle primers into the Auto-Prime at a time.

I'm assuming this guidance is based on the same line of reasoning behind their recommendation to NOT use Federal primers.....i.e. prevent chain reaction KABOOM!

This seems like it will severely limit the productivity of the unit....having to re-fill it every ten primes.

Is anyone observing this limit? or is it more lawyer driven CYA advice that can be ignored?

If you enjoyed reading about "how many primers do you load into your...." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
The Bushmaster
January 23, 2007, 05:53 PM
We are talkin' 'bout Lee Auto Prime II ain't we? I've been using mine for 15 years now and I load 100 primers at a time whether they be pistol or rifle. Say...How many primers will an Auto prime II hold anyway. Hummmm. Just how can one primer that "may" (?) go off set the rest of them off. That one primer is encased in the priming die and shell holder. You get this off the internet?:banghead: There is no way to have a "chain re-action" with the Lee Auto Prime II. By The Way I use mostly Winchester primers...And NONE have gone off yet (Cross my heart as it would scare me to death)...Oh Dangies...:D Would hate that if it happened.

SSN Vet
January 23, 2007, 06:39 PM
those are the words of Richard Lee....pg. 85 of Modern Reloading, second edition.

the Lee web site says that the reason they don't recommend Federal primers be used in the Auto Prime is because they had a chain reaction with them during the product testing trials.....

SSN Vet
January 23, 2007, 06:43 PM
those are the words of Richard Lee....pg. 85 of Modern Reloading, second edition.

the Lee web site says that the reason they don't recommend Federal primers be used in the Auto Prime is because they had a chain reaction with them during the product testing trials.....

http://www.leeprecision.com/cgi/faq/index.cgi

click on priming problems and then select brand warning

Lots of posters here say they use Remmington and Federal in the AutoPrimer with no problem though.

DaveInFloweryBranchGA
January 23, 2007, 06:55 PM
Save yourself some money and use the Magtech primers. They work great in the Auto Prime II and are cheaper to boot.

Dave

If you enjoyed reading about "how many primers do you load into your...." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!