Are Glock pistols double action?

PDA

Miamitiger
January 26, 2007, 05:32 PM
I am new to pistols. I am planning to buy a Glock. Can you cock the trigger and shoot like a revolver?
Excuse my ignorance, your help will be appreciated.

If you enjoyed reading about "Are Glock pistols double action?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Onmilo
January 26, 2007, 05:42 PM
No, a Glock is not doble action.
It isn't even double action.
You can't cock the trigger, nor can you even cock the hammer because this is a modified striker fired design.

The Glock uses some aspects from other pistol designs but for the most part the overall functioning is a unique stand alone design. Hope this helps.

CountGlockula
January 26, 2007, 06:01 PM
http://www.findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0BQY/is_10_47/ai_78130004

Is the Glock a DAO pistol? Cops who want their department to adopt it say yes. Those who don't like the gun aver that its trigger pull is too short and light to be called "double action," a term generally associated with a long and heavy pull. BATF says it's DAO, and for many, that's all that matters. The manufacturer itself avoids the term and calls its pistols "safe action" guns.

A bit of history is in order. In the mid-1980s, Miami cops perceived themselves as losing the firepower race with their six-shot .38 revolvers versus the hi-cap 9mm autos they were seeing as the trademark gun of the dope dealers. They asked for the same kind of hardware.