Crimping below the bullet ?

PDA

joneb
February 3, 2007, 12:22 AM
Is there a handloaders tool for crimping straight walled cases just below the bullet?

If you enjoyed reading about "Crimping below the bullet ?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
flutedchamber
February 3, 2007, 12:27 AM
I believe what you want is a cannelure tool, the same as used to roll a cannelure on a bullet. Before you try it on a case, I would call someone that makes the tool, like C-H, and ask them if it is safe to do so. It probably is safe, but I am no expert.

LHB1
February 3, 2007, 12:46 AM
Jib,
NOT necessary to crimp case below bullet. When you properly full length size straight pistol case, the sizing die reduces diameter of case to BELOW the bullet diameter. When you bell mouth and seat bullet, the upper part of case expands to hold the larger bullet BUT the case below the bullet is still smaller than the bullet and thus you get what appears to be crimping below the bullet.

Good shooting and be safe.
LB

Kimber1911_06238
February 3, 2007, 12:48 AM
You don't need too and it doesn't sound safe. I think that it would increase chamber pressure drastically, but I'm no expert.

joneb
February 3, 2007, 12:57 AM
I have seen this on various ammunition, and thought it was applied to reduce bullet set back for ammo used in tubular magazines or bottom feeders.

The Bushmaster
February 3, 2007, 01:06 AM
Now why would you want to weaken the case. Most splits and/or blowouts that I have had have been at the cannelure of a straight wall case.

Walkalong
February 3, 2007, 09:19 AM
The manufacturers use it to help prevent bullet setback on certain cartridges with certain loads. They do not know how many times someone will cycle it in their gun etc. potentially causing bullet setback and an unsafe rise in chamber pressure.:)

.010 shorter O.A.L. in some catridges can make a huge difference in pressure.

Geno