.243 ar build

PDA

skidoorider
February 4, 2007, 05:56 PM
I am new to this rifle I don't know anything about the parts and how to build one but I want to give it a go. I have read all weekend all over the internet and have come to the conclusion that I might be able to pull this off. The only way to learn is to do it. I have choose the .243 wssm because it is the smallest cal. Iowa allows to shoot deer yet not to big either. I will be using it mainly on yotes, maybe a fox, or other smaller vermin and maybe some day on a deer not very often though. These are the parts that I found an olympic arms upper in the .243 wssm and I really like the rra lower with the nm 2 stage trigger. My question is will these 2 go together? Is there anything I might be leaving out? Like I said I am new to these rifles so I am open to suggestions. I'd like to keep the rifle under $1500 so that I can still afford to put some nice optics on her. One other question I have is when the receiver says 223 or 5.56 on it will it still fit the 243 upper? Any other Info a newbie might need to know would be great like tools and things to watch out for stuff like that. Thanks guys

If you enjoyed reading about ".243 ar build" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Fly320s
February 4, 2007, 06:18 PM
If the Olympic upper is a true mil-spec upper and the Rock River a true mil-spec lower (I beleive they both are) then, yes, you can put them together.

I don't know if the .243 cartridge length will fit the mag well length of a .223 If it does, then you should have no troubles.

I guess you have found a .243 upper, .243 bolt, and .243 mags to make all of this work?

MrDig
February 4, 2007, 09:20 PM
You would need a .308/7.62 upper and lower to do this, then you would need to find a Barrel chambered for .243, the .243 was originally a wildcatted .308 round.

NateG
February 4, 2007, 10:01 PM