New (to me) SKS. What do I have to do before shooting it?

PDA

Dr_2_B
February 5, 2007, 02:06 PM
Hey. I'm not a newbie here - I have 3 AKs and an AR. But I just bought this used Yugo SKS and I want to know what I have to do before safely shooting the thing. I'm not the type who loves tearing them down and tinkering with them. I love shooting them and caressing them and whispering sweet nothings into their receivers.

But I do want to be safe. This copy's virtually cosmoline-free. What do I have to do before I can feel safe shooting the thing. After I see that it works, I'm probably gonna keep it in the truck for the next North Hollywood shootout.

thanks.

If you enjoyed reading about "New (to me) SKS. What do I have to do before shooting it?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Technosavant
February 5, 2007, 02:16 PM
Make sure that the gas tube (both parts of it) are clean and clear of grease. Check over the gas valve (assuming it's a 59/66) and be sure that it is in good condition. A corroded one is an annoyance, but not a safety hazard (turns it from a semiauto to a clunky and heavy bolt-action).

The BIG thing is to take the bolt apart and ensure that the firing pin channel is clean and clear of grease. That's the most important thing- if it gets junked up, the pin will stick and the thing will slamfire on you.

You'll love the SKS too.

DogBonz
February 5, 2007, 02:16 PM
I always field strip, inspect and clean and lube all new to me guns weather they are new or just new to me. I know that it is no always required, but I figure better safe that sorry.

imprezagm4
February 5, 2007, 02:20 PM
Shake it back and forth and look/listen for the firing pin, it should move back and forth freely. A quick field strip/clean couldn't hurt... when I bought mine I took it apart and I cleaned it even though it didn't need it... Stuck firing pin would be my only worry.

Mr White