New Rifle and Optics Mounting

PDA

Snagglepuss
February 21, 2007, 10:11 PM
After asking for help to pick a new and first rifle I went ahead and got a Remington 700 XCR in .270. Got it for a great price on GB. Now I need to put some optics on it. Keep in mind I have no experience in this area.

My hunting will range from Northern Minnesota(fairly dense cover) to areas in Minnesota that are used for farming. I also plan to visit my brother in Texas and go hog hunting in the hill country.

-I already have a Leupold Rifleman 3x9x40 that I put on my AR and could be used on this new rifle.
-I can get a great deal using my C&R dealer status at Midway to get a Nikon Monarch Scope 4-12x 40mm Adjustable Objective BDC Reticle Matte.
-I would probably sell my basically new and mounted only Eotech 512 to finance the above Nikon. What do you think about these scopes.

I visit the EGW site regularly to browse for 1911 parts and saw these:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Remington-700-LA-Picatinny-Rail-Mount-Tactical-0-MOA_W0QQitemZ180088284270QQihZ008QQcategoryZ52511QQcmdZViewItem

Would these make a more than suitable base or should I be looking at something else.

Now how about rings. They seem to range from 5 bucks to 200. I know nothing about this and don't now where to begin researching. High-medium-low? See through? Fixed or removable? Any suggestions here would help. Maybe there is even a sticky on some, as yet unknown to me, optics forum.

Thanks in advance to anyone who dares help.:confused: :confused:

If you enjoyed reading about "New Rifle and Optics Mounting" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Snagglepuss
February 22, 2007, 11:51 PM
Hello? Anyone want to help?

ugaarguy
February 23, 2007, 12:02 AM
-I already have a Leupold Rifleman 3x9x40 that I put on my AR and could be used on this new rifle.