Leverguns in .454/460/500?

PDA

rc135
February 24, 2007, 03:53 PM
I'll be buying a levergun this summer, and want a 'big-bore' rifle, preferably with a short (18-22") barrel, and preferably American-made, in .454/.460/.500. I'm already interested in the Marlin Guide Gun in 45/70, but am keeping my options open. Any suggestions?

I've seen the Puma in .454 already, and it looks pretty good, but would like to buy American if possible.

Thanx in advance.

"History is merely a list of surprises, it can only prepare us to be surprised yet again." Kurt Vonnegut

"When choosing between two evils, I always like the one I've never tried before." Mae West

"I generally avoid temptation, unless I canít resist it." Mae West

"The United States of America should have a foundation free from the influence of clergy." George Washington

"I know that somewhere in the universe exists my perfect soul mate, but looking for her is much more difficult than just staying at home and ordering another pizza." Alf Whit

If you enjoyed reading about "Leverguns in .454/460/500?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
ETXhiker
February 24, 2007, 04:04 PM
What will you be using it for? For fun and plinking, you might consider the .357/.41 mag./.44 mag. Marlins - ammo will be much cheaper than the exotic revolver rounds. For deer, they will work fine also, but the .454/.500 S&W will give more power. Since you have already mentioned the .45-70 guide gun... I suspect you already know what you want. ;)

270Win
February 24, 2007, 05:41 PM
I like the idea of the Marlin in .45-70... I'm sure that could fill in all the same roles as the others you're considering.

DogBonz
February 24, 2007, 05:44 PM
It was designed for a lever gun and will function well.

Plink
February 24, 2007, 05:52 PM