"So you did this too when you were little?"

PDA

sm
February 24, 2007, 11:54 PM
The young lady and young man asked.

"Yep, sure did. How raised - what you do" - I replied.

Mentors & Elders that passed forward to me, had lots to share, including : don't learn on a crutch, 'cause if'n you lose that crutch and you will fall down.

Manual Typewriter is what I learned on back in the day.
Typing class only had two electric ones and after the basics were learned on the Manuals , two students at a time could take turns using these Electrics.
Best recall I used one once, I did not like the electric ones, darn things too "touchy" and how in the heck was I supposed to have an excuse of the "keys stuck" when the dad blasted thing had a ball with the letters on it?

Ironic, this morning Manual Typewriter again being used for something - special. Being honest, real glad it was.

See I am an older returning college student, taking IT classes.
I do a lot of "long distance learning" - meaning a lot of classes strictly online. The classes I do attend on campus, most of my textbook is online, assignments are submitted online, and all my quizzes and exams are online.
Except for practical labs, and I even practice these labs using a virtual lab.

Friday night swamped with tests and assignments - using Internet and Blackboard and WebCt, these "long distance learning tools".
My concerns were beating the weather fore cast for storms, power going out and Servers undergoing maintenance.

I finished and sure enough weather hit and all power is out.
I get power finally and lose it again, get it back in short order. I was up most of the night studying for exams I have to take Sunday.

Decided to just stay up and not go to bed when the clock said 4am.
about 5:45 am , I get an email inviting me for breakfast.

I can do breakfast and these kids are great kids. They have been a bit concerned with all the uproar about AWB-II, some writers and just general behavior of Firearm Owners.