Laser Guns, Do you want one? Please read first...

PDA

Titan6
February 25, 2007, 09:25 AM
A post the other day got me to thinking about something. We are far closer to lethal laser rifles than most people realize. I have some knowledge in the field and while I am not going to go into it I can assure you we are quite close (say half a generation) from a weapon about the size, weight and price of a high end AR capable of adminstering either fatal thermal burns or blinding someone with a couple of a couple of seconds from great range; much greater than your average 30-06 anyway.

Wether you believe it or not go ahead and make the assumption that such a weapon exists. Do you want one?

If you enjoyed reading about "Laser Guns, Do you want one? Please read first..." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
sacp81170a
February 25, 2007, 09:55 AM
I can see it now! Not only could you kill the wabbit, you could fwicasee him at the same time. (But only if he was a fwicaseein' wabbit and it was fwicaseein' wabbit season.) ;)

Alan Fud
February 25, 2007, 08:20 PM
There are already handheld blue lasers (the beam is blue as opposed to green or red) that can, according to claims, set a match on fire with only a second or two aimed at the match's head.

Doggy Daddy
February 25, 2007, 08:30 PM
I would assume that having a proper backstop is extra important. :D

Imagine. Muzzle velocity of 186,000 miles/sec!

grimjaw
February 25, 2007, 09:01 PM
My answer depends on what kind of lasers weapons we're talking about.

Is it a short pulse? Something that only lasts for a second and then stops, or are we talking burn and slash until your finger gets tired of holding down the button on the shiny Destructo pistol?

The second category is similar to a flame thrower, and I have reservations about opening that up to just anybody. The former I'm less concerned about.

jm

Sheldon J
February 25, 2007, 09:06 PM