Olympic AR-15 Plinker?

PDA

JaxNovice
March 7, 2007, 06:27 PM
I am an AR novice so please cut me some slack in answering the next few questions.

I am looking to buy an entry level AR-15. I have 2 baby girls at home and would like to not break the bank. I came across an Olympic Arms AR-15 plinker today for $550. My questions are:

1) Is the Olympic AR-15 a total POS or is a decent AR?

2) What is a plinker?

3) Is $550 a decent price?

Input appreciated!

If you enjoyed reading about "Olympic AR-15 Plinker?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
kart racer
March 7, 2007, 06:44 PM
If you go the ar15 forum,most will tell you it's a pos.The ones I have been around have been hit or miss.Del ton can you build you for a little less than a 150.00 more or for around 730.00 you can get a stag upper and lower and have a nice ar for the average person.

I went with the stag and really don't have any regrets.

lesgeaux
March 7, 2007, 07:01 PM
Are you wanting to go the AR route simply to get into the AR rifles? Are you wanting one because you want to shoot .223 rounds? What is the reason?

JaxNovice
March 7, 2007, 07:14 PM
Les, that is a great question. I want to get into AR rifles. Some co-workers have them and I would like to join them out on the range and not appear clueless :)

DoubleTapDrew
March 7, 2007, 07:20 PM
Is it this one? http://www.triplebreakproducts.com/Olympic/plinker.htm
1. I have an Oly. It's been decent and reliable for me. There are people that love them and people that hate them. There may have been a period when they were lower quality but I don't have any complaints about mine.
2. A plinker is a fun gun that's usually a smaller caliber and used mostly for shooting at the range or various critters. It's not typically a gun you'd want for SHTF or zombies :D
3. Given the list price was a hair under $600, $550 seems like a decent price if it's new or in very good condition.