Sigma accuracy question

PDA

klingy
March 20, 2007, 04:45 PM
What is the best group that you were able to achieve with a Sigma (caliber irrelevant) and at what distance?

The reason I ask this is that I (a shooter with a strong preference for revolvers) bought a new SW9VE and thought that the heavy Sigma trigger pull would be a non-issue. The best group (15 shots) I was able to get was 3" at 10 yards. I've had the gun since Saturday and put 200 rounds down-range before I could get it to group this well. My first 100 rounds looked like a 12-gauge shooting 00-buck loads. I took my S&W Model 10 to use as a "control" gun and got a 12 shot, 2 3/4" group at that same range with absolutely no effort. I've been shooting for over 30 years and I just can't figure it out. Is it me or the gun?

Thank you, in advance.

If you enjoyed reading about "Sigma accuracy question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Steve C
March 20, 2007, 05:22 PM
This article claims 3" at 25 yds from a rest.
http://www.gunblast.com/SWSigma9.htm

GCW5
March 20, 2007, 06:07 PM
The only Sigma I shot was a .40 with a real heavy trigger that shot about like you said. I think it had more to do with the trigger than the pistol. I would guess that if you could learn to manage the trigger, it would probably shoot OK.

Just my 2 cents worth.

klingy
March 20, 2007, 08:38 PM
Steve C: I saw that article. Got it saved to my PC. I noticed that his trigger weighed in at 9 pounds. My stock trigger weighed 11 3/4#, sometimes over 12#.

I did read about a trigger spring modification on the S&W forum, but didn't like the idea of completely removing springs. I instead clipped one coil off of the mainspring and the resultant trigger pull is now 10.5 pounds. The same as my revolvers.