Tennessee carry permit.

PDA

Im283
April 8, 2007, 10:00 PM
Can anyone tell me what is involved in the shooting qualification part of getting a carry permit in TN?

Please say if you are a TN resident, I dunno but maybe qualification is different from state to state.

Thanks

If you enjoyed reading about "Tennessee carry permit." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
amprecon
April 8, 2007, 11:04 PM
The shooting part consists of shooting your firearm at a standard pistol target at different ranges up to and including 15yds(?) under the instructor's supervision. Yes, I am a TN resident.

Im283
April 8, 2007, 11:14 PM
How is it scored, what do you have to do to pass:confused:

Can you go into more detail about the whole thing?

I do not go until June 9 but I am curious and would prefer to not pester the man in charge if possible.

bpsig
April 9, 2007, 02:58 AM
the basic qualification is 300 pts =100 max score value
Which depending on your area or election year of the local Da or some defense attourney will cause you problems . Saying your shooting perfect you should have / could have shot to wound . etc hollywood bs pay attention to laws and be sure of your reason to us your carry gun. Must shoot I believe 70 % or around 210 pts etc. Basic is 5 rds a time fire reload fire then move next stage. at various ranges from 3 - 25 yds, until 50 rds expended. , reload
The point value is scored from hits in center to outside of black outline. Point value lowers by the location of the entry holes if you going to take a 44 mag pick up a few boxes of 44 special and practice with them , Also take them easier to qualify . Similiar for 357-38 etc in auto 22lr or 9mm/ 40. /45acp ball ammo will due but practice with whatever you carry before put in you weapon to see if it works.