See a Psychologist & Lose Your Guns/CHL?

PDA

Sam Adams
April 11, 2007, 12:29 PM
I have a good friend who, owns a bunch of guns and who has a CHL (he and I are both TX residents). His wife and he both come from families with a history of ADD or ADHD, and he told me that they both have lots of problems concentrating on tasks, etc. (i.e. signs of adult ADD, according to him). Neither of them has displayed any violent or truly irrational behavior, though I suspect that his wife is borderline bipolar (she has had a bunch of temper tantrums over the years, and he says that they were fairly severe over-reactions to minor problems). I'm a lawyer, so he asked me the following questions:

1) Would voluntarily going to a psychologist for an evaluation hurt his ability to own a firearm, or to have a CHL?

2) Ditto #1, except would her going to a psychologist impact his rights?

3) If a drug such as Ritalin was prescribed for him or his wife, would that hurt his ability to own a firearm, or to have a CHL?

4) What about other drugs that are more powerful than Ritalin?

5) What would be the effect if his wife is diagnosed as bipolar?

As I said, I'm a lawyer - but one that has nothing to do with firearms laws on the professional level. I'd appreciate any answers to, or comments regarding, these questions.

If you enjoyed reading about "See a Psychologist & Lose Your Guns/CHL?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
General Geoff
April 11, 2007, 12:33 PM
From what I understand, the only way his mental health (perceived or otherwise) would affect the legality of his owning firearms or holding a CHL would be if he was involuntarily committed, or if he was adjudicated mentally incompetent by a court-appointed psychologist.

Sam Adams
April 11, 2007, 12:51 PM