repriming 7.62x54R

PDA

judaspriest
April 15, 2007, 10:43 PM
Hi all,

I am a reloading newbie and have a naive question.

I have a bunch of corrosive 7.62x54R hungarian (here are the specs (http://7.62x54r.net/MosinID/MosinAmmo007.htm)) and I saw a post on THR about reloading berdan primers. Would it be feasible to replace the corrosive primers with non-corrosive ones (having removed the bullet and the charge first, of course)? Ideally, I'd like not to have to detonate the primers before removing them (to avoid having to clean the salts from the cases). Is it possible?

Thanks for any tips!

If you enjoyed reading about "repriming 7.62x54R" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
armoredman
April 15, 2007, 11:57 PM
Really a PITA. Steel cases are no good for reloading, anyway. Get some Grafs brass, and start fresh. Shoot up your surplus, and have fun with it, or save it for a "rainy" day.
I use Grafs with Hornady 150gr .312 303 bullets with H-4895, good stuff.

NuJudge
April 16, 2007, 08:02 PM
I believe the Hungarian uses .254" Berdan primers.

RWS still markets .254" and a lot of other sizes in Europe, and I read recently that a specialty ammunition maker in Australia catering to filmmakers there got a shipment of many thousands, but has not shipped any here in a very long time. The last importer of .254" Berdan primers to the US was Old Western Scrounger, and before the business was closed and sold, he told me he had been trying for years to get more, being told by RWS that RWS was out of them and might never make more.

Before about 1990, it was hard to find 7.62x54R brass, except for expensive Norma. I reloaded a lot of brass-cased berdan primed Chinese 7.62x54R, that came from who knows where, to shoot in a Tokarev I hate field-stripping.