A couple of questions from a new guy

PDA

Tully M. Pick
April 25, 2007, 06:04 PM
With all the crazyness in the news lately, I'd like to buy a gun for defending myself. I'm very new to firearms, never having owned one or having handled one much in the past. I have a few questions I'd like answered, if at all possible.

Which is a better bullet for self-defense: 9mm or 45? As I understand it, the 9mm goes faster and you can carry more bullets, but the 45 has a bigger bullet. Should I get a Glock or a 1911 pistol? Semi-auto or revolver? Which do you think is better and why? How many clips should I buy if I get an automatic pistol?

A buddy of mine uses a 22 to hunt coyotes from time to time. He also said he hunted deer with it. If you can shoot a deer with it, shouldn't you be able to use it for defending yourself?

A guy at the gun store said I should think about buying a shotgun for home defense, and recommended using birdshot ammunition. Someone else thought deershot would be better, but said I had to be worried about shooting through the walls of my house if I used it. Which is better to use? Can bullets really go through my walls and into the neighbor's house? Do they have weaker bullets that don't do this?

One of the salesmen at my work thought I should buy an M-16, and one of the guys out on the shop floor thought that an AK-47 would be good to have.
Which one would be better to get? The salesman said the M-16 was more accurate than the AK-47, but that the AK-47 was more powerful. They both might be too much for my first gun, so is there anything else I should look at?

Thanks,

tmpick

If you enjoyed reading about "A couple of questions from a new guy" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Outlaws
April 25, 2007, 06:07 PM
Do I smell a troll?

exar
April 25, 2007, 06:11 PM