Ruger question

PDA

eastwood44mag
May 4, 2007, 01:52 AM
This may be an absolute novice question, but here goes anyways:

Why is it that the Super Redhawk has no lug, while the GP-100 has a full lug (current production models)? I would think the larger calibers would need the extra strength more than the .357.

Anyone know why they're the way they are?

Thanks.

If you enjoyed reading about "Ruger question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
szuppo
May 4, 2007, 02:05 AM
I believe the full lug was incorporated into designs for the added weight benefits to reduce recoil and for aesthetic reasons.
While I am sure it does add strength, it adds it where it is not necessarily needed.

ugaarguy
May 4, 2007, 02:19 AM
I believe it's a market generated thing. Do a search for Smythons. These were S&W K-frames (Mod 19 & 66 mostly) in 357 magnum which folks had gunsmiths fit Colt bbls to for the full underlug Colt look on a S&W gun. When S&W introduced the new L-frame 586/581/686/681 they featured the full underlug bbl. Ruger's first DA revolvers were the Speed/Service/Security Six which were very close to the K-frame in size, and also lacked full underlugs. The GP100 is an L-frame sized gun, and is the 686's chief competitor.

S&W has recently introduced the 620, an L-frame 357 mag without full underlug - presumably to meet consumer demand for such revolvers. If they take off Ruger may follow suit and supply what the market demands. On the other hand it took them quite a while to introduce a reasonably slim semi-auto pistol, the P345. They've also yet to introduce a lightweight alloy frame revolver, which is one of the hottest revolver market segments, though they have both the equipment and expertise to do so.

rkh
May 4, 2007, 02:31 AM