What is the most deadly .22LR round?

PDA

storm shadow
May 9, 2007, 11:44 PM
I am relatively new to guns, so please be polite. :)

What is the most lethal and deadly .22LR cartridge on the market for personal defense in a concealed carry pocket pistol?

(Please spare me the sarcastic comments, wise-cracks and jabs about how wimpy the .22LR is for this role. I already know that.).

However, on the other side of the coin, keep in mind that an individual who practices virtually non-stop with a .22LR pocket pistol and can place his shots where he wants them (in the face, groin or hand for example), is going to be far more effective and yes, even lethal than someone who never practices with his 9mm and couldn't hit the broad side of a barn. Just my own opinion.

If you enjoyed reading about "What is the most deadly .22LR round?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Jorg Nysgerrig
May 9, 2007, 11:50 PM
I suppose if you are stuck with it, go with the fastest load you can find, CCI Stingers or something.

That said, a great pastry chef who spends months practicing whipping egg whites to perfect peaks with a brick would be better at wipping egg whites than someone who has never done it before trying with a wire whisk. But can you imagine if used a wire whisk instead? Woo boy, those would be some perfectly beaten egg whites.

Neo-Luddite
May 9, 2007, 11:52 PM
CCI Stinger is probably the best defensive .22 LR --not all guns will feed it well. Use only in modern guns. It is roughly a match for .380 ACP (target loads) for energy. If it feeds well in your pistol, it is a solid performer.

Best out of a .22 revolver (newer S/W would be best). It is a problem child is .22 auto pistols sometimes.

I can understand physical limitations might make one go for a .22, but it really is too light for defensive use except when nothing better is at hand or permitted for other reasons.

kingpin008