Repairing a rusty gun, with pictures.

PDA

Torghn
May 30, 2007, 12:06 PM
So I recently acquired a 38 special. I don't think the gun has ever been fired but the trigger, hammer, and release are rusted pretty bad. The cylinder is also rusting as well as a few other small places.

I'm relatively new to hand guns as this is my first. I got it from my Grandfather so I'd really like to get it fixed up and looking nice but I'm not sure how to begin. Can any one post some instructions or a link to a sight going over what I should do. I'd prefer to do it my self if I can, but am not above paying a professional if absolutely necessary. Attached are some pictures of the gun in it's current condition.

If you enjoyed reading about "Repairing a rusty gun, with pictures." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Curator
May 30, 2007, 12:41 PM
Use bronze wool and automatic transmission fluid. You can find bronze wool in several grades (I use the medium and fine) at hardware stores that also sell boating supplies Our local Ace Hardware has it. Bronze is harder than rust but softer than steel. It won't remove what's left of the blueing either. The ATF helps to soften the rust and also prevents it from scratching. It is also one of the best anti-rust gun oils.

Torghn
May 30, 2007, 01:51 PM
Thanks I'll give it a try. After I get the rust off with the ATF be enough to keep it from rusting (along with normal gun care)?

brentn
May 31, 2007, 03:02 AM
You could re-blue it after you are done and keep it slightly oiled with the atf, that will prevent rust.

Seriously though, check the inside of that barrel, if its rusted in there you might want to bring it to a smith and see if they can recommend anything.

BBBBill
May 31, 2007, 09:21 AM